Current Leadership & Structure

The New GBC Logo Signifies the Leadership Structure of The New Way Forward

In 2013, the Ghana Baptist Convention adopted a new constitution which abolished the position of the General Secretary and created the positions of The Executive President to lead the Convention, with Vice-President (Ministries) and Vice-President (Administration) from 2014.

  • The first Executive President is Rev. Dr. Ernest Adu-Gyamfi
  • Vice-President (Ministries) is Rev. Enoch N. N. Thompson
  • Vice-President (Administration) is Rev. Washington Komla Darke

Boards and Committees under the previous constitution gave way for the Presidency and the directorates to execute the administrative agenda of the Convention.  The Directorates are:

  1. Christian Education & Auxiliaries
  2. Evangelism & Missions
  3. Finance
  4. Socio-Economic (BREDA: Baptist Relief and Development Agency)

Other units are:

  1. Estate/Legal
  2. Guest House
  3. Transport
  4. Baptist Health Service
  5. Baptist Bookstore
  6. Baptist Women’s Retreat & Resource Centre, Ejura

The Baptist Health Service reports to the Medical Service Council

Baptist Ministers’ Conference

This is the umbrella body for all recognized Baptist Ministers of the Ghana Baptist Convention.

The Denominational Board

The Denominational Board acts as an advisory body to the President and makes input to the President’s draft policy proposals.

The Denominational Board consists of:

  1. A representative of each of the 4 Sectors
  2. A former Officer of the Convention
  3. Head of the Ministers’ Conference
  4. The Chairperson of the Governing Council of the Ghana Baptist University College
  5. A Legal Practitioner
  6. Two women
  7. A Technocrat


There are 4 Sectors in the Convention, each consisting of a number of Associations with the 4 Sector Heads reporting to the Presidency:

South-West Ghana Sector (Central and Western Regions)

  1. Winneba Baptist Association
  2. Swedru Baptist Association
  3. Cape-Coast Baptist Association
  4. Hope Baptist Association
  5. Sekondi-Takoradi Baptist Association
  6. Nzema Baptist Association

South-East Ghana Sector (Greater Accra, Volta, and parts of Eastern Region)

  1. Accra North Baptist Association
  2. Accra South Baptist Association
  3. Tema Central Baptist Association
  4. Dangme-East Baptist Association
  5. Dangme-West Baptist Association
  6. Eastern Baptist Association
  7. North Volta Baptist Association
  8. South Volta Baptist Association

Mid-Ghana Sector (Ashanti and Brong Ahafo Regions)

  1. Kumasi North Baptist Association
  2. Kumasi South-East Baptist Association
  3. Kumasi South-West Baptist Association
  4. Kumasi West Baptist Association
  5. Golden Gate Baptist Association
  6. Adansi Baptist Association
  7. Adom Baptist Association
  8. Sunyani Baptist Association
  9. Bethel Baptist Association

Northern Ghana Sector (Northern, Upper East and Upper West Regions)

  1. Tamale Baptist Association
  2. Tahima Baptist Association
  3. Nalerigu Baptist Association
  4. Bolga Baptist Association
  5. Wa Baptist Association
  6. Liberty Baptist Association
  7. Nakpanduri Baptist Association

Mission Fields

Mission fields are virgin areas where the Convention is reaching with the gospel through our missionaries. The mission fields are:

  1. Sefwi
  2. Nzema
  3. North Volta
  4. North-Eastern (Yendi)
  5. Navrongo


The Auxiliaries of the Ghana Baptist Convention are:

  1. Baptist Men’s Ministry (BMM)
  2. Women’s Missionary Union (WMU)
  3. Baptist Youth Ministry
  4. National Union of Baptist Students (NUBS)
  5. Children’s Ministry


  1. Baptist Medical Centre, Nalerigu
  2. Ghana Baptist University College, Kumasi
  3. Northern Ghana Baptist Theological Seminary, Tamale
  4. Baptist Vocational Training Centre, Frankadua